The dashboard is available to you once you have created an account for you and created your organisation record. These are usually done when you started a new campaign you coordinate or when you jointed an existing campaign coordinated by another organisation.
On the left is a navigation bar which gives various different tabs.
Note: ‘Organisation’ with the cog image is for Organisation Settings. ‘Organisations’ with the people image is for users with multiple organisations to change which organisation they are using.
If you do have multiple organisations, the top of the Navbar shows the name of the one you are currently using.
The Widgets Tab displays the different widgets you have access to.
One campaign might have multiple widgets, such as if multiple language widgets are needed or you might see widgets of multiple campaigns.
Clicking on the Settings (cog) button will open some Settings options on the right of the screen.
The ‘Test mode’ button toggles the widget being in ‘Test mode’ on or off.
Note: you can also view a widget in test mode at a later date by adding ‘?proca_test ‘ to the end of the URL
Note: after clicking save, these will only take effect after you also click ‘Rebuild’ (see more here).
Clicking on Embed (rocket) button gives options for embedding and a preview..
This shows the html code that is to be copied and pasted to embed the widget on your website. More about embedding on this page of the guide.
A Demonstration of your widget is shown here too. You can also click ‘Preview’ to go to a display of our widget on our server.
The Campaigns tab shows campaigns that you are part of. Here is a picture of a demo account which is part of 3 campaigns:
This is all that someone who is a partner in campaigns will see.
The button to ‘Add Campaign’ can be used to add a new campaign, but only use that if you want to add a new campaign!
If you are the admin of a campaign, more options will be available for campaigns which you are admin of:
Settings. This changes Campaign settings for the text in the join process.
Translate. This opens up text and translation options for campaign text (more here).
Partners. This shows Partners who are part of the campaign, options to approve partners who have requested to join, and a link to send to partners to join the campaign.
Stats. This shows actions collected per widget.
Clicking ‘Partners’ brings up a list of partners in the campaign and all of the widgets each partner has.
If they are pending approval, there will be a tick or cross option to be approved. Once approved, they show a tick.
The button ‘Link for partner join’ has a URL to send to partners to go through onboarding to join the campaign.
This Tab gives settings for your organisation, which is largely the same as the ones entered in the Join Process:
If these aren’t already entered, the screen starts like this:
The Twitter lookup works to copy from some public information on your Twitter account by typing your Twitter handle into the field and pressing the magnifying glass button.
Invite to Join Organisation
At the bottom of the organisation settings is the Invite button, which you can use to invite other people to join your organisation.
Note: this is only to join your organisation, there is a different mechanism to invite someone from another organisation to join your campaign as a partner — see the Campaigns section.
If you wish collected data to be ‘Encrypted at Rest’, which keeps it secure, then you can do this on the Encryption tab. If you do not do this, it will be encrypted when it is transferred but not stored in an encrypted manner.
Note: Encryption means that data cannot be unlocked without the Key. This allows data to be securely protected, which is part of the decentralised security that is part of Proca and ensures that only you will be able to access this data. It does also mean that that if you lose the Key, you cannot access the data gathered (and would have to create a new one for future data) by support sign-ups. This affects supporter sign-up data only — action data is stored separately anyway.
Encryption does not need to happen immediately when you make your account, but if data is collected before setting up encryption then it won’t be encrypted. We therefore recommend setting it up before launching or publishing the widget.
When you first open the tab, it will look like this:
Once you generate a key and have encryption active, it will look like this:
To generate your encryption key:
Click ‘Generate key’ (near the top of the page).
Give it a useful name (e.g. ‘Campaign Name Key Feb 2021’), and press ‘Generate Key’.
After it is generated, this pop-up will appear:
Either copy and paste it or download the key by clicking ‘Save to my device’, which will download the key as a file. Make sure you keep it findable and safe! You will be able to see the public key again, but never the private key. If you lose it, you will lose access to the supporter data collected.
It will then show as an active key on this tab as in the earlier photo.
The Export tab gives many options for exporting data:
The top drop-down lets you specify which campaign to export, if you want to specify one.
There are a few GDPR options:
- “Opt in:” people who clicked the “yes, I want to receive emails” button
- “Double opt in”: people who clicked the link to confirm in a Double Opt-In (contact consent) Email. This is only relevant for organisations who set this up!
- Opt out: people who chose “no, I do not want to receive emails”
Contacts exports people’s contact information only; Activities exports all the actions taken, eg register, social media shares, etc.
CSV will be the file format you want, unless you know you want a json ;).
If your data is encrypted, load the encryption key.
Then, press the Export button at the bottom to download the data.
Multiple Organisations and Logout
The Organisations Tab lower down allows you to manage your organisations on Proca. Most users will only have one, but some users may have multiple organisations, and this tab allows you to swap between organisations (which will reload the dashboard) or create a new organisation. The organisation you are logged in as shows at the top of the Navigation Bar on the left.
There is also an option on the right to create a new organisation, using the same form as in the Join process.
The Logout button will log you out (!), which is advisable as basic security to prevent somebody else using your account.
- Section on: Campaign Text and Translations
- Next Section: Putting Widget on your Website
- Back to Contents Page